Bake my dreams

27 Sep

Waiting is hard.

If you saw the ‘Great British Bake off’ you will have seen bakers crouch eagerly at their ovens, watching their creations slowly rise (hopefully). All impatient for the moment that the alarm buzzes and they can nervously take out their cake to face the scrutiny that awaits.

It’s all in the baking!

If we were to skip the process, even shave off valuable minutes or in some cases seconds, then the results could be completely different. The result would be either an odd looking cake, or a rather sore stomach.

The bakers are caught in this odd tension of wanting to get their cake out – aware of each second that ticks by, whilst recognising the importance of what happens whilst it’s in the oven. It can’t be rushed by turning up the heating dial (why I end up with burnt rice), or quickened by stolen glances (the culprit for my pancake flat cakes).

I find myself in this funny tension in life sometimes. You know, when you have dreams, hopes and goals that you have held for weeks – years – decades maybe? Sometimes the passion and excitement can be too much to bear, yet you know you have to wait.

It reminds me of being a child in the run up to Christmas. That sense of anticipation and excitement, the irritation at seeing all those unopened doors on the advent calendar that are getting in the way of me and my Christmas day.

I want it ‘NOW’

But if I had had my Christmas when I had desired it (probably before the calendars even hit the shelves), then it wouldn’t have been the same. The weather wouldn’t justify a cosy open fire, the presents wouldn’t have been wrapped, there would be no seasoned Christmas pud, or hope of snow.

It’s in the waiting that these things come about.

Not just any waiting – proactive waiting.

For if we were just to sit and wait for the things we hope for – we may risk not being the person we need to be when we get there.

A little part of me wants to click my fingers and be 4 years down the line where I am really able to use my skills as a therapist and see lives changed, and people freed and empowered. But – if I was if I was there now, right this very second – I may be more damaging than helpful. I wouldn’t have the knowledge and the skills needed that grow through time and learning.

It would be like taking the cake out of the oven early.

Sometimes waiting isn’t inevitable. Sometimes our inactivity is the only thing stopping ‘it’ from happening. We can be the barriers to our futures, our dreams. We can spend our lives waiting and devising new ‘as soon as..’ excuses. Waiting for our lives to start.

Become the change, the movement. Be decisive. Your decision to move could be the decision that changes the course of your life.

~
Start that business
Make that phone call
Schedule that doctor’s appointment
Take that trip
Have that difficult conversation

~

When circumstance requires a wait – don’t sit still. Grow, challenge, and develop into the you that will make the wait even more worthwhile.

Bake.

For in the oven happens a miracle. A flurry of chemical reactions, a busyness that the eye cannot see. A critical process.

Be the cake in the oven – not the one sat on the side waiting to be put in. Focus on the present, live in the now but in knowledge of your future – live your life story.

If I you were to pop a polaroid picture, a snapshot of my future as it could be, into my hand right now. I might say – wow! THAT is what I want, I will do whatever I need to do to get there, to live that, to be that change. No matter how long, hard, high the mountain top experiences, or low the valleys will be – it will be worth it.

So, bake my dreams.

And I will try my hardest not to waste my time staring at the oven.

9 Responses to “Bake my dreams”

  1. Corinne September 27, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    I can’t tell you how helpful it is to hear that Anna x x

    • Fary September 27, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      Thank you angel!
      i love your posts – but especially this one 😉
      …you can guess why 🙂
      xxx

    • Anna and Her Biro September 27, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

      Ah hun i’m glad it’s helpful. Call if you need to. xxx

  2. jo September 27, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    i needed to read this today. perfect timing,love.

    • Anna and Her Biro September 27, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

      Ah glad to hear it lovely. It means alot to know that my posts are helpful in some way or another. I hope you are okay.

  3. midnitechef September 27, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    very insightful and inspirational dear Anna! I’m certainly the “as soon as we get x done, THEN we can…” type and HATE it. Change is hard, but it’s easy once you take a couple baby steps…

  4. otside September 28, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    What a treat to read such a well-written, well-composed thought. Your point reminds me of Thoreau’s intention to “live deliberately.” Except you came up with a much yummier metaphor–mmm baking cake!

  5. Kari September 28, 2010 at 4:39 am #

    Thank you for the timely read. I know this, try to live it, but I love reminders that make you think about it in a slightly different way. Cheers!

  6. x1123581321x September 30, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    I stumbled into your blog, fell down and scarped my knees… I was too busy looking at your great writing, I did not look where I was going…I will come in again, this time I will be ready. *limping back into the web*

Leave a Reply

