An ode to the man who didn’t ask

23 Sep
Sitting there
Lounging
On the pavement
Against the wall.
Your concrete sofa
Your chaise longe
~
You sit reclined.
Legs outstretched into my path.
Exhuding an
Atmosphere of regality.
This is your street
~
You breathe through a
Smouldering cigarette
Not bothering to
Pull it from your lips.
Denying yourself the London air,
Ash threatening to fall on your
Marked jacket.
You don’t mind
~
Your outfit
A dusty street man’s,
Mismatched and well worn.
3 pairs of trousers
Rolled carefully to different lengths
A strange rainbow of colour
Against the grey of your pavement
~
You stare.
Moving only your eyes
As people open shops
Beginning their working days.
Fueled on good nights sleep and steaming coffees.
A different life
Ruled by ticking clocks and ringing phones
~
I wonder
What is going through your head?
Maybe nothing,
A simple fog of morning sleepiness.
Maybe jealousy or intrigue
At the lives of passers by.
Or perhaps bemusement at our complicated existence
~
But I sense a disconnectedness
A blasé
An unaffectedness
That says
This is my world.
You live yours
~
You do not ask of me,
Or speak
Or look
As I expected.
You don’t interrupt the moments I spend
Seeking my key
An opportunity to request change or food
As many would
~
Did you even see me?
Notice me?
~
I am touched by the irony of this
The lack of exchange,
Aknowledgement.
Confused.
You have turned the tables
The un-noticing
Becoming the unnoticed
~
This is my world
You live yours
7 Responses to “An ode to the man who didn’t ask”

  1. jo September 23, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    this painted a nice picture in my mind

  2. Word Player September 23, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    I stumbled across your blog and enjoyed reading this post.

    • Anna and Her Biro September 23, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! Glad you enjoyed it.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. LKD September 23, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    I really, really like this. Nice twist at the end!

    Keep writing!

  4. faisalarshad September 28, 2010 at 6:32 am #

    Wondrous work!!

  5. x1123581321x September 30, 2010 at 1:36 am #

    You are O.K.

  6. Kellie Elmore October 10, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    i love when i can SEE what I am reading! You are such a descriptive and have a wonderful ability to paint a scene with words! I would LOVE for u to check out my “Creative Playground” tab on my blog and click on my site “Social Muze”! It’s a little site I put together for my blog and AllPoetry dot com friends to talk about art, photography, poetry etc… 🙂 I would love for you to be a part of it! At least take a peak 🙂 I will def be back!!! 🙂
    Kellie

Leave a Reply

