Shut up Anna!

21 Sep

There are some things in life that just shut me up.

I can be thinking, chatting or in a daydream, yet when I come across certain things – i’m stopped short. Captivated. I have been caught staring, brow furrowed at odd items just because I’m enthralled at the complexity or beauty of it.

Let me share my current list with you-

I have just rediscovered these gorgeously, sweet (and very in season) fruits. My first memory of eating figs was at an uncles house. My dad plucked one from the large, heavy tree in the garden and handed it to me. I remember being intrigued by its tough, purple brown skin and suspicious when I was told that I could eat it. Since then I have munched my way through many a dried fig – but fresh ones had dropped right off my radar!

Until last week! I stumbled across a fruit stall in Covent Garden whilst whiling away a lunch hour. After a few seconds musing as to what these odd purple fruits were, it clocked!

Off I went with a fresh fig in a crunchy brown paper bag.

I stopped walking after taking a bite, just to observe the hidden beauty of the fruit. What colours are concealed within the dark, boring skin! Intricate strands of burnt orange and red, flecked with sweet yellow seeds.

Since then, I am having to stop myself at 2 a day. I can report that as it stands, no colleague has yet commented on my excessive fig habit.

What can I say about peacock feathers?

I mean look at them.

If you want to see a girl spellbound, put one into my hands and I will just stare in amazement of the colour and the simplicity of the design. How do they grow like that? How does each separate strand produce such an array of stark colour that lines up so perfectly by the strands beside it?

Has any human managed to produce something so incredible?

Just like in yesterdays post. The night sky, like the clouds, evokes a similar reaction in me. A feeling that I am so small, that we as a human race know so little. The sky is such a mystery to me. So much beauty, such incredible beauty, and yet so few will ever see it. For more pictures taken from the hubble spacecraft, click here.

As I stepped off the sea plane onto our Maldivian honeymoon island, I couldn’t speak. After spending my life not quite believing postcard pictures of paradise beaches sent by gloating holidaymakers, there I was – stepping out onto a piece of paradise.

I would lie on a sun lounger staring silently in awe at the beauty around us. What a contrast to the city I live in – pure and completely unadulterated. And here, I sit at my desk in central London, wondering whether it was all a dream.

Like the night sky, here’s another stunning world that exists away from our eyes. The colours, designs and breathtaking variety of tropical fish silenced me (not that one can talk much when snorkeling). I couldn’t believe the ‘finding nemo’ world I had found myself in.

Standing in queue in Boots once, I remember staring at a woman’s pregnant stomach. Although at risk of being carted out the store, I continued to stare, enthralled by the miracle happening within her body.

It’s like our world is a canvas, painted on by the most incredible artist with a palate of incomprehensible colours that no human could ever mix, match or combine. When I begin to consider that a thousand forests could be formed from a single acorn, or think of the incalculable myriad of stunning butterfly breeds (that were seemingly created – just because!), I am silenced.

When we see something beautiful, stand on the edge of the vast Grand Canyon, watch the gushing water of the Niagra falls. When we see the swirling, paintbox mix of the northern lights or snorkel the great barrier reef..

How can we be unchanged? How can we think that we know it all, did it all, can do it all? How can we think it all ends with us?

We are creative beings, powerful, knowledgeable and capable of producing breath taking artwork. But for me, nothing,  nothing can compete with the handiwork of the creator.

Accident Schmaccident.

5 Responses to “Shut up Anna!”

  1. Stacey September 21, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    Anna I remember my mom use to have like three fig trees in our backyard, and when in season, me and my friends use to enjoy them so much especially for our snacks! I haven’t had a fig since I was kid.

  2. Christy aka Mamarazzi September 21, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    We think so much alike its almost eerie. I have an unfinished post similar to this about animal patterns and other patterns in nature. I am waiting to get a few more photos before I complete it.
    Its so good to know there are others out there who stop and look at the details of the beauty that surround us everyday. Thats one reason I enjoy photography so much. Sometimes when people compliment my photography, I often say, I’m not the artist, God is, I’m just bringing his work to your attention.

  3. thypolarlife September 21, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    I am one of those people who also stare and drift off into thought. Mid sentence, mid conversation, doesn’t matter. just thought it was a bad habit of mine. I have learned recently to appreciate the smaller things in life. Its amazing where you can discover beauty that you never knew was there before.

    I enjoyed your post. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Zoe September 24, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    I haven’t had a fig in so long! They’re delicious!

  5. dellajune September 28, 2010 at 3:28 am #

    I enjoyed this post until you mentioned peacock feathers- and then I loved it. Sitting on my dresser is a vase of peacock feathers. I look at them every morning as I prepare for the day. It felt like I was reading something I had written. 🙂
    Great post.

Leave a Reply

