Why clouds make me uncomfortable

20 Sep

Isn’t there something incredible about just lifting our eyes and looking to the sky?

I don’t do it often enough.

A canvas of colour, an ever-changing mystery that transforms regularly from the mundane to the breathtaking.

It puts things into perspective, reminds me that there is more to this life than the me-centered world that I live in. It acts as a metaphorical kick in the backside. It reminds me that my world is not the only one. In fact, it reminds me how small I am. How very, very small. How insignificant, vulnerable and temporary I am.

So why would I want to do this more often? Why would I want to glance up to a sky that reminds me of my fragility, and my morality? It’s uncomfortable revelation, but it changes the way I see things, the way I live.

I want to be challenged.

How would our world change if we each took more time to look at the sky, feel the uncomfortable feeling that comes with knowing how small we are, and how temporary. Would we live for different things? Live our lives in different ways? Not wait until our death beds to utter those famous words –

‘If only…’

Would we live more intentionally?

I have memories as a child, of sitting on the garden bench with my Dad during thunder storms. Watching the lightening fork down to the ground.

Beautiful and terrifying.

Proof of the truth that we are living in a world that is more powerful and unknown than we comprehend. We are not all there is. We can only explore, document and ‘know so much’. We will never fully understand. We are small.

Is life really lost by dying? Or is it lost second by second, hour by hour – those days that we haven’t truly lived, but let slip away. Just another day. Maybe days could mean more than just another page of a diary, a crossed off square on a planner.

There are a million ways to waste and lose a day. And not a single way to get it back.

Many of us are waiting for life to begin.

When I move home. That’s when.
When I get married. That’s when.
When I have a baby. That’s when.
When I have paid my debt. That’s when.
When I retire. That’s when.

What if our only real obstacle, for living. Really living. Was our choice to wait.

I want a Kingdom perspective, a heaven bound life. A day that counts, changes something, someone. Somewhere.
I want to use my gifts, talents and passions to LIVE. Really live. I want to be challenged and moved. Out of selfishness, short-sightedness, closed-mindedness. Out of letting life slip by, gifts unused, untouched. People unchanged.

So, every day this week. I will look at the sky. And I will be challenged, and hopefully changed.

Because, in the end, the way we spend our day, is the way we spend our life.

I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of (Jesus)

6 Responses to “Why clouds make me uncomfortable”

  1. Rohan September 20, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    nice blog….
    I especially like this line
    Because, in the end, the way we spend our day, is the way we spend our life.!!
    Keep posting ,you are doing a good job

    • Anna and Her Biro September 20, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

      Hi Rohan,
      Thanks so much for your comment. I’m glad you are enjoying the blog. Have a lovely day

  2. Christy aka Mamarazzi September 20, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    Beautiful post! I can honestly say that I too, LOVE looking at the clouds and you were able to put into words the feeling I could never explain. Thank you.

  3. pritam September 21, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    nice

  4. Meri September 22, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Beautiful, Anna. This made me well up. “I want a Kingdom perspective, a heaven bound life…” – YES!! Love you. xxxx

  5. J. Elle September 23, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Really nice post.

Leave a Reply

