Maybe I shouldn’t have looked

14 Sep

I sat opposite a man on the train home last night. I looked at him.

Living in London, you get used to not looking people in the eyes. It’s a shame how I can share a carriage with someone, yet retract into my own little bubble – my paper, my iphone, my music, and get off – not having taken a second to look and think about those around me. To recognise them, acknowledge them. Sometimes I wonder if I could sit opposite a friend and not even know.

Anyway, last night I took a second to look at this man, in his suit, with his big briefcase. Hiding under his hat. And I saw these big, sad eyes.

A person.
A story.
A history.
You hold so much
Under that ‘travelling face’.
Journeying with me
The equally unknown.
Yet we share a space
Air
A stare maybe.
~
So I glance.
Your eyes are sad.
You purse your lips
And lie back in your hat.
A mystery.
~
What are your dreams
Your thoughts
And hurts?
Who knows you.
Really knows you.
What do you want with this life?
Are you mad at what it’s offered.
~
You have gone.
~
Home perhaps.
Alone?
I imagine you stepping slowly
Slouched with those sad eyes
~
Who are you
Travelling man?
As unknown to me
As I am to you.
We shared the space
On this train.
A moment.
A few stops.
~
But your eyes,
Heavy and softly glazed,
With what I imagine as
Unshed tears.
Will stay with me a while.

One Response to “Maybe I shouldn’t have looked”

  1. Layla September 14, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    You’re so creative, so arty! I love it! Makes fab reading sat relaxing with a cup of tea 🙂

Leave a Reply

