Frustrating creativity?

13 Sep

I have a creativity in me. So strong that at times I can barely bare to think of it, to muse on it. I start to think of poems and books unwritten, words not yet typed. And then I think of time, and how it ticks away, falling like sand through open fingers. How do I harness it, use it, communicate it, channel it? When do I put pen to paper and what do I form? Do I research and plan? Or trust my innate desire. Fiction or fact, poetry or prose, personal or dreamt?

I wonder if there are any other frustrated creatives out there. Do you identify with this? What do you do to meet it? As a child, I used to feel so alive sitting on the carpet surrounded by glue and shiny sweet wrappers. I still do actually! Do we do this, pursue this, or suppress it as we are intimidated by its intensity and potential power.

One Response to “Frustrating creativity?”

  1. Li Li September 20, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    Wow. I just happened across your blog and read this post and I just had to comment. It’s like you took the words right out of my head. I feel this exact way most times. I cannot seem to gather everything swirling around in my head to produce any sort of tangible product. It is so frustrating, no?

    I generally jot all these ideas down in order to feel like I am “doing something about it”. I have dozens of notebooks filled with starts and stops and ideas and phrases. (I read recently on a blog, “If novel writing was only about intros and beginings, I would be a bestseller.” So true, right?) I, like you, don’t know how to harness it.

    If you come up with any ideas, share please! 😉

Leave a Reply

